The Little Things

I am a list maker, it helps keeps my thoughts organized and I feel more in control of things. Although 4 months away, my journey is going to be here in the blink of an eye, and as a planner I am already preparing. I recently reduced my possessions to move up to Washington from Arizona, anything that was important that I could fit into my car. Now I find myself really looking at the last of my possessions and pondering the little things.

What I could fit into my car, must now be condensed into a suitcase, weighing no more than 80 pounds. So it’s the little things I think about now like what is most sentimental to me, necessary, useful.. The things I will need to get due to the geographic location of my new home, and lifestyle difference..See it is the little things, the important things. The best things to have to survive, to live as comfortably as possible..I’ve had a lot of people asking how I am going to manage to condense my entire life into a suitcase and jet-set across the world to live in a foreign land, with meager amenities.

This is my answer: people get so caught up in materialistic possessions that they forget what is important, what is really necessary for survival, what truly makes life worth living. Yes, certain possessions are worth holding onto, but it is every experience you have in life that stays with you forever. So, as I trifle through my possessions and make my lists and prepare for a life of limited belongings, but endless opportunity and experience, I implore you to take a moment and go through the old boxes in the closet, the dusty bins in the garage, or the clutter that confines you, and condense. On your next vacation cherish the experience, and not the trinkets. Don’t take this as never buy things ever again, but really think about it, think about if it will be seen, and remembered, not just thrown in a dusty old box and forgotten, because you only live life once, so make the most of it!

Leave a Reply

