Spring Cleaning

Time is such a fluid thing. One minute it is today and in the blink of an eye a year goes by. This makes it important to make the most of everyday. The lasts breaths of winter are clinging to life here in Washington as spring showers and sunnier days breathe new life into the day. I feel like I was talking about the approaching spring in the yesterday of February, now April is fast approaching. Where did March go?

I’ve been busy preparing for my upcoming adventures and the changing of seasons has made me nostalgic for simpler times and reinvention. I dug deep, and cleaned out the cobwebs, starting my “spring cleaning” a bit early. But I’m not just talking about fluffing pillows, adding pops of color to winter drab, or finally getting around to dusting.. I’m talking a spring cleaning makeover! Since I have the resources to give myself a much-needed transformation, I splurged recently and did just that. Spring is the time for new beginnings and with my upcoming move, it couldn’t be a better time to shed the cocoon and transform into the butterfly that has been trapped within. As much as I grumble at the mere thought of shopping, I made a list and set off in search of a new, brighter wardrobe. After a bit of a spending spree, I ended up with a brand new me from head to toe.

Step one in my transformation was a new wardrobe, since I’m pretty sure mine was last updated in the Dark Ages. I invested in bright colors, bold patterns, light and flowy styles to replace the dark hues, shapeless styles, and pattern-less solids. This included skirts, dresses, non-jean pants, and colored jeans. My clothing store of choice was JC Penney’s. Even with the masses of people probably rolling eye right now, stop. Because even though Penney’s changed its marketing strategy, there still is no other place you can go that has amazing prices and good quality clothing. Some other stores had decent sales and I added a few additional pieces, but not even the bargain rack at Nordstrom’s or Macy’s comes close to the sheer volume of deals Penney’s has. So if you want to update your wardrobe, go there now.

Step two of my transformation was my hair. The everlasting debate on my chocolate locks that naturally outshine the sun in true color. Well, I took the plunge and chopped at least 5 inches off my hair, from lower back to gracefully shoulder sweeping. A much fresher, lighter and easier to maintain style. After getting an updated cut, I went back to get a fresh uplift to the color. To many people’s surprise and joy, I had all the brown stripped from my hair and am now back to the glowing blonde that has not seen the sun since I in drenched it in brunette splendor about 6 years ago.

So there you have it. After an entire style update and an entirely new look, I have indeed transformed myself and finally wrestled free of the cozy cocoon to become a butterfly. About time, right? This should have been done awhile ago, like when I went from being a teenager to a young adult. I guess I just didn’t want to let go. But hey, I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22! And it’s about time to embrace positive changes and new beginnings. Go confidently in the direction of your dreams.

 
Live the life you have imagined.
-Henry David Thoreau

Leave a Reply

