Ready..Set..Go! – the Final Preparations

Only 1 month until I partake in the most demanding, but rewarding job in my life! All my travel arrangements have been finalized and I have to say it feels a lot more real now that I have a plane ticket in hand. The entire process has been almost surreal, yet with each passing moment the reality sinks in and my excitement overwhelms me! This month is dedicated to packing, planning and preparing. There is so much to do, including stocking up on some necessities. There are moments of extreme nervousness, but overall I am ready and have ZERO doubts.

This is the timeline of my journey so far with the Peace Corps:

December 2011 – Applied for the Peace Corps

December 18, 2012 – Medical pre-clearance issued

IMG_20130228_174445

January 18, 2013 – Invitation to serve in Kenya, Africa as a CED Volunteer

April 15, 2013 – Final medical clearance issued

April 30, 2013 – Final travel arrangements made

June 2, 2013 – Safari Njema! Flying to Staging in Philly

June 3, 2013 – Staging in Philadelphia

June 4, 2013 – Leave for Kenya!

So that is my journey so far with the Peace Corps. The process to become a volunteer was intense and lengthy, but compared to the experience and impact of my service, it is worth the effort and time! I cannot wait to embark on this adventure and thank everyone who has supported my choice to be a Peace Corps Volunteer.

Asatane kila mtu!!

Leave a Reply

