Thai Spicy Peanut Noodles

There are a lot of things I miss and my bi-weekly consumption of Thai food is one of them. My favorite little joint in Washington always smelled of heavenly curries (not to be confused with the smell of Indian curry, completely different) and aromatic spice. And I would drink a perfectly sweet Thai iced tea or beer, eat steaming bowl of veggie wonton soup followed by my favorite green curry dish which never dulled as there was always a choice of beef, chicken, shrimp, or duck( my favorite). Sadly, I cannot recreate the atmosphere or some of my favorite dishes here in Kenya. But I can try. Yes, my food is delicious and without compare very close to my Thai favorites. But nothing here can recapture the ambiance of that restaurant or any other, and the available ingredients aren’t quite the same. Nonetheless. I have successfully created at least one dish worthy of subduing my craving for a much missed tradition…for now. My little taste of Thai in Africa via spicy peanut noodles.

Spicy Peanut Sauce
65 ml (2oz)coconut cream, or light coconut milk
3 heaping T peanut butter, crunchy for more texture
1/8 c water
1/8 c low sodium soy sauce
Dash of black pepper, ginger, garlic powder
1 tsp chili powder
1 T garlic chili sauce, or Siracha

Add all ingredients to a sauce pan, heat in low until the pb melts and bubbles just rise to the surface.
Cover, let sit to thicken.

Thai Noodles
1/4 package whole grain spaghetti noodles, or rice noodles
(Other option can include making noodles from carrots, eggplant or zucchini by julienning thin)
1 c thinly shredded kale or cabbage
1 carrot, shredded (if not using carrot noodles)
1 onion, diced
2 tomatoes, diced
5 cloves of roughly minced garlic

optional: roasted chopped peanuts, cilantro/danyia, spring onions diced, for garnish
Add in: meat, chicken, pork, fish, or shellfish, tofu

Cook the veggie until al dente and add to the sauce.
Cook noodles according to the package, drain and stir into the sauce, enjoy!

IMG_20131001_221014

Leave a Reply

