Chocolatey PB Skillet Cookie

Sometimes I just want a cookie. A hot, fresh out of the oven cookie. This poses a few challenges. One, making cookies is as it implies, more than one..and I just want one. Two, in Africa I don’t have an oven, or a microwave, or a ramekins for a microwave cookie, or chocolate chips. Three, I want the cookie right now. Taking these into consideration, I placed myself in my kitchen, scrounged my cupboards and set out to create a cookie. The recipe is simple, yet the process is tedious because I have to smell it baking. But the end result is a gooey-hot-fresh-chocolatey cookie made right on the stove top!!! This one is mine..go make your own.

tmp_CYMERA_20131125_172037382858170

Serves about 4…or just 1

Ingredients
1/2 c whole wheat flour
1/2 t baking soda
1/8 t salt
2 1/2 T sunflower oil (in lieu of butter)
1 T peanut butter
1/4 c sugar(white or brown, or half each)
1 egg
1 T dark cocoa powder

Method
Prepare two saucepans, a smaller one in a larger one, and set the heat to just slightly over low.
Combine oil, peanut butter, and sugar till mixed.
Add egg until a more smooth consistency.
Add dry ingredients and mix till combined.
Spread the dough into the smaller saucepan.
Cover and let cook for 20 mins.
Let sit for an additional 10 minutes covered.
Enjoy with a spoon and a smile!!

I’ll be trying other variations of this and post my results. And if you really want to please your inner cookie monster, top with froyo or salted caramel, or both.

2 thoughts on “Chocolatey PB Skillet Cookie

    • Now I can make all kinds of quick cookie treats! Glad to have my dad’s MacGyver skills here in Africa ๐Ÿ™‚ it’s the little things, like a cookie that brighten my day.

Leave a Reply

