Month 12

This month I celebrated my one year in Kenya and turned out to be fun and eventful overall.

I spent the anniversary day at the mall and enjoyed some comforts of home. To cap off my afternoon I tucked myself away into the seclusion of the movie theater and watched Maleficent, good movie. Then ended my day doing some needed shopping and splurged on a fridge!! I love my fridge. A small price for continued happiness.

The second week of the month came a surprise visit from students attending the University of Chicago. I knew JOOUST wanted me to welcome them to Bondo, I didn’t expect to tag along all week for their excursions as a cultural facilitator and sometimes translator. This is what the third goal is all about! “Helping Americans understand the people and cultures of other countries” I had the added treat of being able to do so in Kenya by giving them hands-on experience. I took them to two local restaurant, the first was more upscale, the second was my personal local hoteli where I indulged them with local dishes.

I gave them a chance to walk in my shoes and took them down my backroads to my home, showed them how I lived and then my counterparts answered some more questions ans showed them the apiary and farm plots. We went to the Food Hub and They worked alongside Young Farmers, some even doing some marketing by the road with the newly harvested veggies. Their main objective was a science symposium at the university, that I sat in on for awhile, and a visit to ISIPE – a research facility for insects on Mbita Island. Going to Mbita was my first time on an island in Lake Victoria ans on a ferry. The ride was lovely, especially in the early hours of the morning, it got rather hot in the afternoon. The research facility was interesting especially their work on malaria and combating pest problems for indigenous crops. We ended the day by mid afternoon and were back on the mainland for the last excursion of their visit befpre going back home.

Near Bondo, there is a small village that is off the beaten path but worth the visit to because a very special lady lives there. Who is this special lady you ask? She is President Obamas grandmother. You can go to her home and meet her! She is very nice ans I impressed myself by being able to hold a decent conversation in Kiswahili with her. A definite highlight of the week for sure. After bidding farewell, I stepped right back into my routines and the remainder of the month played out in the usual way.

2 thoughts on “Month 12

  1. Hi I’m from the BBC World Service and we’re talking on our radio programme today (25th July 2014) about the decision to pull the Peace Corps out of Kenya. Our show is between 11:00-12:00 (BST). Would you be interested in talking to us? Please let me know by emailing me on daisy.northway@bbc.co.uk

Leave a Reply

